The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Favorite Movies

leave a comment »

Lights, Camera, Action!

Lights, Camera, Action!

  • The Great Escape – This is from 1963 and has a large ensemble cast including Steve McQueen, James Garner, Donald Pleasence, Richard Attenborough, Charles Bronson, James Coburn and David McCallum. It was aired annually in the 1960’s and 1970’s and I grew to enjoy it.
  • Sole Survivor – This was a TV movie from 1970 that was very memorable and made big impact on me when I first watched it as a kid. The ending was what made the lasting impression.  I recently re-watched it and it had much less effect on me.  In fact the main plot centered around a General who was a young navigator on a doomed plane who bailed out and left the rest of the crew flying blind.  This was mostly lost on me when I originally watched it.  It starred William Shatner shortly after Star Trek ended.
  • Wizard of Oz – I liked it as a kid when it scared me and appreciate the comedy scattered throughout as an adult.
  • A Christmas Story – Despite the constant showings around Christmas I still like to watch it.
  • E.T. – I knew it was going to be a classic the first time I saw it and was right. I even insisted that my parents watch it but they were not impressed.
  • Gran Torino – This stars Clint Eastwood and that is all I am going to say about that.
  • Forrest Gump – That is all I am going to say about that.
  • Breaking Away – I saw this when it was released at the local drive in theatre around 1979 or 1980. This was a movie that was about some friends in High School who were going through changes as they graduated.  A bicycle played a part in the plot. Who knew I would become a bicycling nut about ten years later.

I guess that is about I can recall, I am not a movie enthusiast. I have other favorites that are universally liked but these are ones that made a significant impression on me for one reason or another.   If you haven’t seen any of these I would recommend them without hesitation.

Have a great week.

Leave a Reply

