The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

A Vast Wasteland

leave a comment »

Television Desert

Television Desert

I am speaking of network TV. I now rely heavily on Netflix and Hulu to get me to baseball season which is finally here.  If the quality of the programming was better, I would not have been forced to seek out something else that I could stand to watch.

Consider this:

  • My wife and I binge-watched the first four seasons of That Girl as a compromise to anything else we could find on regular TV. Season five was just released on Hulu – we will ration those episodes to last for a month which is about 5 episodes per week.       I can’t get enough of Ann’s cranky father Lew Marie. They added words to the theme song for season five which was an annoying mistake.      
  • We even watched several episodes of Nanny and the Professor.       It was bad but better than the alternatives. I also watched several episodes of Flipper. The theme song is heinous yet engaging. I watched most of the ESPN 30 for 30 shorts as filler when there was nothing else on the tube.
  • After we finished the first four seasons of That Girl we discovered season one of Family Affair and were set for a month. I hope more seasons will be available on Hulu soon so we will have something to watch after we are done with Ann Marie and Don Hollinger from That Girl.

It is comforting to know that I can always fall back on classics like the Rockford Files, Quincy, Adam 12 and Emergency! The classics genre is full of stuff to fill dead time when I can’t watch baseball.  In addition to those I already listed there is Taxi, both Bob Newhart shows, WKRP in Cincinnati, Rhoda, Mary Tyler Moore, and Lou Grant to name a few 70’s gems.

I realize that there are a lot of shows that many of you will bring up that I can watch but the reality is I am not interested in what is offered today. It seems like every other show that is popular is trashy or about Zombie’s.  I did find two shows that are currently on that I like.  They are The Middle and Last Man Standing.  You might want to check them out if you haven’t seen them already.

Have a great week watching your favorite show even if it is about Zombie’s. What do I care; I have baseball!

Written by pacelinebiz

April 10, 2016 at 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

