The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Light Bulbs!

leave a comment »

I Contain Zero Mercury

I Contain Zero Mercury

I’ve never given much thought to light bulbs.  They are only something you think about when they are not working properly. They are like an offensive lineman in football.  You never pay them much attention until they get a penalty or allow a sack on the star quarterback.  Today I have been forced to give some thought to light bulbs and you probably are thinking that can’t be a good thing.  Other than providing blog topic fodder you are correct if you think that.

Here’s the story.  Last week the light bulb for my garage door opener went out and I didn’t give it much thought.  I knew I had to deal with it when I had the time.  Then early this week I noticed a bulb was out in my office ceiling light.  Later that day the ceiling light over the kitchen table went out.  By then it seemed strange that all these lights were going bad.  I took my last old-fashioned incandescent bulb and replaced the light in my office. Then I looked to see if I had any in the basement.  I did not.

I was in a fix it mood so I went to change the light bulb over the kitchen table with one of the new-fangled “green”, poisonous-mercury laden ones.   I have an ample supply of them in the kitchen pantry.  Mercury intermingled with my food stuffs?  I know, just as I was writing that sentence it occurred to me that a better place needs to be found for my mercury stash.  As I removed the burned out mercury light I realized it is a different type of light than the supply I have nestled in between the rice and quinoa.  (We have quinoa but never eat it. I don’t know why we have quinoa, but I like saying it at various times for no reason because it sounds funny. Kin Wah)

With my plans to have ample light over the kitchen table scuttled, I decided to change the bulb for the garage door opener when I realized I had at least two issues.  The first issue is; I don’t have any incandescent bulbs that are bright instantly.  The second issue is; if I install the poisonous bulb that s – l – o – w – l – y gets bright, will it endure the vibration from the motor of the garage door opener?  Incidentally, these bulbs are supposed to last longer – up to nine years on average.  Why is it that the incandescent bulb I replaced in my office has been there since before we moved into our house about five years ago and the long-lasting poisonous one over the kitchen table was installed two months after we moved in?   Where is my nine years?   My office light is in use much more than the light over the kitchen table. Hmmm.  That makes me want to say Quinoa.

Get yourself some Quinoa, you’ll be glad you did.  Have a great week.  

Written by pacelinebiz

December 7, 2015 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

