The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

The 33 – A Movie About The Chilean Mining Rescue

leave a comment »

Go see a movie!

Go see a movie!

Over 5 years ago I wrote about the Chilean mining accident that played out over two months in 2010. I used that rescue as a way to glean business lessons from the drama that unfolded. Read what I had to say by clicking here.  Today, I don’t have a business lesson to share but I noticed the recent advertising for a movie about the rescue.  It will be released on November 13thwith the title The 33.  This will be a theatrical release rated PG-13 and not a made-for-TV movie.  I am surprised there was not a movie of some sort about this already.

The movie has Antonio Banderas, Lou Diamond Phillips, James Brolin and Gabriel Byrne with lead roles and they were the only actors I recognized from a long list of names. At the time of the rescue I had a strong feeling of relief and joy that the rescue was successful after they were trapped for over two months.  I needed a feel good story back then as I was weary of the financial crisis of 2008-2009 and the BP oil spill that happened in the spring of 2010.

I am planning on seeing the movie and if I don’t get to it at the theatre, I will stream it on Hulu or Netflix when I get a chance.   From the Wikipedia hyperlinked article it appears the movie has had mixed reviews but I won’t let that stop me from going.  I am always in the mood for a feel good story.  The only question I have about this is; why did it take 5 years to get this thing made? My guess is that it had something to do with money.  It always does.

Have a great week and look for the movie at a theatre near you.

Written by pacelinebiz

November 9, 2015 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

