The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Ant-Man, A Movie Review

leave a comment »

 

This Is Not Ant Man

This Is Not Ant Man

I am not qualified to review movies but I know what I like and I can share my brief thoughts. I will not keep you waiting – Ant-Man was good and I recommend you see it or rent/stream it. I saw it at the Saturday matinee with my 2 nephews who are 11 and 13 and they also liked it. In case you don’t know or can’t figure out by the title; it is a superhero movie based on some obscure Marvel comic book.

The title is a little misleading because the super hero is not an Ant-Man. He is a normal guy that has stolen a special suit that allows him to shrink to a small size.  A very small size – shall we say the size of an ant? He does eventually use ants as cohorts for fighting evil but he needs a new, cooler more accurate superhero name. That is not a big deal but for some reason it bothers me.

Now back to the movie review. It had a good blend of action, funny moments and a little flirtatious romance in a PG-13 sort of way. Since I was watching this with my 2 nephews I would have cringed if it was pushing the limits of the PG-13 rating and I did not even wince. I don’t think there was much bad language and the romantic parts were tame. I think I have seen worse in animated movies. The rating was probably earned by the superhero action violence. A couple of times people and test animals were zapped into a messy blob by the evil villain who was trying to make his own shrinking technology.

The movie is an hour and fifty-seven minutes long and kept my interest the whole time and on the edge of my seat for a good part of the time. Michael Douglas plays a supporting role as the original inventor of the suit and most of the supporting characters seem real rather than over the top. Even the boyfriend of Ant-Man’s ex-wife is not a total jerk which is refreshing. In real life people do manage to get along most of the time.

This is not a perfect movie but I enjoyed it and it is worth the price of admission – and at today’s movie prices that says a lot. I would give it a letter grade of an A.  If you want to get out of the heat and enjoy yourself for two hours try Ant-Man I think you will be glad you did.

Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

July 27, 2015 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

