The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

You Don’t Need A Smartphone

with one comment

Is Your Smart Phone Making You Dumb?

Is Your Smart Phone Making You Dumb?

You really don’t need a smart phone.  OK, I will speak for myself – I really don’t need a smart phone.  Those of you that know me personally are probably thinking; yes, you are already pretty smart so why do you need a smart phone?  My questionable intelligence aside, I will repeat the words.  I DON’T NEED A SMART PHONE.   Sorry for yelling but I thought I needed the emphasis.

Why I don’t need a smart phone is simple – the majority of the time I use it as a telephone or to text message.  My Nokia flip phone from 10 years ago could do that AND play music.  OK, I hear the snark but be honest with yourselves.  Do you really need to update your Facebook status or post a picture on Instagram with your smart phone?  No you don’t.

I enjoy using my phone to check emails, navigate with the on-board GPS but I can do without those features especially now that I have my WinBook TW100 tablet-PC.  Do I need to pay with my Starbucks app or play solitaire on my phone while I wait at the airport?  How important is it to know my elevation at any time?

I have had a Samsung Galaxy S3 for over 2 years now and I can honestly say I can do without it.  I might miss the phone for a while but if I saved $30/month on my phone bill, I might get over it by spending a weekend out-of-town creating memories that will last forever with the savings.  I am sure I am in the minority but I just have a built-in resistance to adding more “must haves” to my budget.

So what is my action plan to take from this declaration?  Not much really.  I think the only thing I can do is to resist upgrading my existing phone until it is broken, works too slowly or the operating system will be too out of date to do smart things.  I will spend most of my energy getting the best price for my service since I am paying for data that I don’t use.  Much of the time I can connect to Wi-Fi so I am leaving data “on the table”.  Do you think I am kidding about my data usage? Check out my recent cell phone bill below.  By the way, you can call that number and I will be happy to Turn Things On End To Achieve Results!

I Don't Need No Stinkin' Smart Phone

I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Smart Phone

Have a great week breaking free of your smart phone – it is making you dumb!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on rennydiokno.com.

    rennydiokno2015

    April 27, 2015 at 9:22 am


Leave a Reply

