The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Is Inertia Your Friend?

leave a comment »

 

I'm not going anywhere

I’m not going anywhere

Inertia is defined as the property of matter whereby a body remains a rest or in uniform rectilinear motion unless acted upon by an external force.  The second definition is inertness or inactivity.  You may be asking yourself; why am I sharing this information with you.  Let me tell you why.

I have a different take on this concept which I call customer inertia.  A customer will remain as such as long as it is easier (or less painful) than changing product or service providers.  First and foremost I hope you are not counting on customer inertia to maintain your revenue stream.  If you have been following my blog very long you should be aware that I am an advocate of knocking the socks off of your customers with great customer service.

I will let you in on a secret.  Not all companies share my desire to provide great customer service.   These companies are the ones that are relying on the law of customer inertia.  Let me pick on an easy target – cable or satellite TV providers.  They give you a teaser rate which increases in year two of your two-year agreement and then they hope like heck that when it expires and they raise the monthly fee by 7% you decide to stay inactive.  Sure, you will be mad for a few minutes and then after thinking about doing a search for a new provider, returning all their equipment and taking half a day off to be at home for the next provider’s install date you will decide that inertia is well within your comfort zone.  I implore you; don’t let those inertia-loving companies win.  Demand satisfaction from them.  Kick them to the curb if they don’t meet your demands.  Speaking of the curb, I could add trash haulers to the list and while I am naming names I could also mention cell phone providers.

You might think that I am trying to be sneaky and think that what I offer for the lesson today is to count on customer inertia.  Let me be clear; in no way do I advocate that.  I think if you offer great service you will have loyal customers not from inertia but from fear.  Fear of losing the great product or service you provide.  If you can do that, you can get a higher price for what you offer – because it is still a value.

Offer a great product or service and everybody wins.  I am much happier working with customers that treat me like I treat them than ones that would leave me if it wasn’t such a hassle to go elsewhere.  I want to be a partner with my customer and vice versa.   If inertia is one of your friends, you need better friends. 

Have a great week.

 

Written by pacelinebiz

March 23, 2015 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

