The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Review Of WinBook TW100 Tablet

leave a comment »

 

Value-Packed!

Value-Packed!

A few months ago I was considering the replacement of my iPad which is an original that my wife won at a conference in 2010 and handed down to me a two and a half years ago. During this period a digital catalog from an electronics company arrived in my email inbox and I noticed this 10.1 inch diagonal tablet was selling for $200 (actual screen size is 8.5 X 5.5 versus my iPad which is 7.75 X 5.75). I found this intriguing and looked further due to the attractive price.

Upon further review, I realized this was not just a tablet to replace my iPad, it was actually a tablet-pc which ran the Windows 8.1 operating system and came with a one year free subscription of office 365. What?!! “This is too good to be true”; I told myself. I investigated further and read reviews looking for the “catch”.  I could not find one. The more I looked the more I liked what I saw.

When I looked at the specifications it had the following impressive list of items which piqued my curiosity:

  • 1 – Micro USB 2.0 port
  • 1 – Full size USB 3.0 port (I never used one before but they are as fast as advertised)
  • 1 – Mini HDMI port for video
  • 2 – 2 megapixel cameras (front and rear facing) poor quality but you get what you pay for
  • 1 – Micro SD expansion slot 64 gigabyte maximum – “hard drive” comes with 32 gigabyte
  • 2 gigabyte RAM, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and an Intel quad core processor

What this meant to me was I could hook up a multiport hub to the USB 3.0 port and I am off to the races by attaching a mouse, full size keyboard (which is a must for ol’ fat finger Freddie), a printer, a scanner, and an external hard drive. Right now with the display at 180% in Word I do not need an external monitor and I am typing this without any problems.

…and all I was looking for was a replacement for an iPad so I could go to Fox Sports and YouTube without crashing! I am by no means qualified to know the limitations on this device but for $200 what I do know is this is an adequate back up for any laptop if all you want to use is Microsoft Office. If you want to run AutoCAD or some Multimedia video editing software this will probably not work.

I have seen reviews on YouTube and read written reviews that talk about poor sound quality of the speakers (seriously?), poor backlighting of the screen (I haven’t noticed it) or that the Bluetooth is not great (I don’t know since I don’t Bluetooth) I have only had this for four days but so far I am blown away at the value. I don’t know how the battery will hold up but I already know that it seems adequate. I have been using this right now for 2 hours writing this and answering emails and listening to music on Windows media player through those crappy speakers and it is at 75% battery. That seems to suggest eight hours of moderate usage on battery power is possible.

Have a great week, I know I will.

 

 

Written by pacelinebiz

February 9, 2015 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

