The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

The Evolution Of The Video Conference

with 2 comments

 

Webcam

Webcam

In 1999 I started work at a large manufacturing company that made parts for the automotive industry.   In addition to a dozen manufacturing facilities we had a corporate headquarters (where I worked) and a sales office outside of Detroit.  I mention this because in this office we had videoconferencing equipment to talk with vendors or suppliers or to our sales office and the few production facilities that had the equipment.  I remember participating once or twice and thought it was pretty cool.  It was just like when Dan Rather or Tom Brokaw would interview a person in another location or talk with a reporter in the field.  The one difference was the video was a little choppy when we did it over our T-1 line.

Fast forward to about 2008 and with a laptop and cheap USB camera you could also video conference with anyone over the internet – and it was a little choppy over the “fast” DSL.  I used this technology to have online meetings with clients when I began my business.  It was nice to be able to have that capability without needing expensive equipment and an IT department.

Fast forward to August 2014 and my mother and I were “face time-ing” with iPad’s and there was not choppiness at all over the internet at 30 Mbps.  This technology has been available since the iPad was rolled out at the very least.  The next thing is for me to use Google Hangouts to video conference with my wife over our cell phones using wi-fi when I am working out-of-town.

Soon, Apple is supposed to come out with a wrist watch and I bet we will eventually be video conferencing that way which is even better than Dick Tracy’s 2-way wrist radio.  For some reason, that seems very cool to me.  What is next?  Beam me up, Scotty?

Have a great week.

 

Written by pacelinebiz

September 22, 2014 at 8:01 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I use face time to help my grandson with homework. In my day, this was totally science fiction. I love technology.

    Kathy Murauskas

    September 22, 2014 at 10:53 am

    • Kathy,

      I agree. I think we will continue to be amazed at what is coming down the road with technology.

      pacelinebiz

      September 23, 2014 at 7:58 am


Leave a Reply

