The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Laughing At The Polar Vortex

leave a comment »

 

Polar Vortex

Polar Vortex

Last month, the headlines were dire as the northern United States were going to be hit with a polar vortex that would have temperatures plunging to the low 70’s in the great lakes region during the day.  I saw the headlines a week before it hit and I was intrigued because I was going to be traveling to Ohio and Pennsylvania that week.  I clicked on the headline and the link confirmed the worst.  High temperatures the following week would be near 70 for 3 days.    I laughed when I read the forecast because I anticipated the high temperatures struggling to get to 60 degrees.

What has happened to the media outlets?  Are they fighting for ratings so much that they have to contrive stories and false panic?  If the attempt to create something out of nothing wasn’t so lame I would have been angrier.  It did tick me off enough to file it away as a possible blog topic and so here it is; my take on the great polar vortex during the summer of 2014.

As you may know I am a bit of a weather nut.   This is mostly due to my need to have decent weather to ride my bike.  Yes I am a bicycling nut too.  The polar vortex came and went in Youngstown on July 16 -18 and the following high temperatures were recorded.

July 16th – 70

July 17th – 73

July 18th – 76

I happen to have data on the past 3 years for the weather in the Youngstown, Ohio area which was in the path of this great polar vortex.  I looked at the period of June through August of 2011-2013 and this is what I found.  In 2011 there were 8 days with high temperatures of 73 or less.  In 2012 there were 10 days and in 2013 there were 19 days – 20.6% of the entire summer was at or below 73 degrees!  Why was there no outcry and dire warnings of a polar vortex chilling down the great lakes region?  In fact, July 28 and 29 this year had high temperatures of 68 and 69 degrees respectively but there was no polar vortex talk.   How could the weather channel have missed this?  Perhaps they were embarrassed and ridiculed by the hype they tried to create the first time around.

Most of the people I spoke with during the vortex laughed and thought it was a nice refreshing change of pace.  As you can see, it was also nothing at all out of the ordinary.  Yes, a few record lows were recorded during this manufactured crisis but can you really get excited about a record low of 50 degrees?  For your convenience I have included the National Weather Service website where you can see this data for yourselves.

Have a great week enjoying the weather.

 

Written by pacelinebiz

August 11, 2014 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

