The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

This Blind Squirrel Found A Nut

leave a comment »

Squirrels are omnivores

Squirrels are omnivores

Over Memorial Day weekend my wife and did not plan much and at the last-minute on Sunday we picked up a pork tenderloin to have the next day. It was one of those in store specials that they discounted for a quick sale since the sell by date was soon approaching. We got a 5 pound cut for about $14 after using a $2 coupon the store mailed us along with coupons for other frequently purchased items. Yes, big brother knows what we eat.

I cut it in half, length-wise and froze one half for later consumption. The other half, I rubbed down with a special mix and then put it in a gallon storage bag with an apple cider based marinade for about 24 hours. Alton Brown will tell you the science behind the acidity in the vinegar breaking down the meat fibers making it unbelievable tender. I will tell you that science or no science it was good!
Since you have all been very good I will give you my rub recipe and my marinade recipe.

The rub consisted of salt, pepper, cumin, cayenne pepper and brown sugar. I did not measure anything but I would say it was roughly 1 tablespoon of salt and pepper, about half as much cumin and cayenne pepper and about ½ cup of brown sugar. After I rubbed it on I took some minced garlic and added it and then I took about 1/3 cup of pure Ohio Maple syrup and slathered it over the rub.

I placed the meat in the storage bag and added the marinade which consisted of about a half cup of apple cider vinegar, about a half teaspoon of liquid smoke and about a tablespoon of soy sauce. I also added a about a tablespoon of olive oil.

When I was ready to grill, I cut the meat in half again lengthwise making a piece about a foot long and 2 1/2 inches thick. I had fired up the grill and waited until it was about 700 degrees and cooked it for about 5 minutes on the 4 sides for a total cook time of 20 minutes. It had a nice char on it when I lifted off the grill and onto the serving plate and let it rest for about 10 minutes. As I was taking it off the grill I remember thinking that it had a very pleasing aroma as it drifted up in the air.

I was very pleasantly surprised how good it was and the maple syrup and brown sugar gave the meat a subtle sweet flavor. We also had boiled redskin potatoes and corn on the cob to make it a great kick off to the summer. I guess you can say that even a blind squirrel finds a nut every once in a while. I can’t wait to repeat the process with the other half someday soon.

Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

June 30, 2014 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

