The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Business Lessons Learned From My Mother

with one comment

 

...and THAT'S how you do it

…and THAT’S how you do it

For those who are new to reading this blog, I want to advise you that in the summer months I write only one business topic per month. After today, the next business topics will be on July 7th and August 4th. I will resume the normal schedule of alternating between business and non-business topics with a September 1st labor day business blog.

After a brief career as a registered nurse, my mom retired and raised five kids – at one point she had a newborn, a one year old and a three and a half-year old. At that point my older brother and I were nine and eleven so of course we were willing to help out around the house.  If you believe that especially about the nine-year-old me then I’ve got some authentic Rolex watches I can sell you at a nice discount.

So what does this have to do with business lessons to be learned?  The first lesson I learned was delegation.  When she had her hands full, she would assign tasks for me and my brother to do. They were the type of tasks that we were able to handle without much, if any, supervision. Things like go get the mail, get me some butter from the fridge for these cookies I am whipping up.  One of the traits of a good manager is to delegate and do it the right way.

Another lesson learned from her was that sometimes you had to roll up your sleeves and get your hands dirty to accomplish a task. As you may know from previous blogs, my father had an auto repair shop and gas station when I was growing up. This meant that he was very busy and did not always have time to do things around the house. When she wanted mulch for her flower beds she would get my dads’ mid 1950’s manual transmission Chevy truck he had for the business and grab the neighbor lady and get the mulch. She would drag along my brother and me to “help”.

Another lesson I learned from this was thinking outside the box.  My mom was about 100 pounds and did not know how to drive a truck with a stick shift and it was without power steering.  Fortunately, the neighbor lady grew up on a farm and could handle it.  This also shows her ability to collaborate and problem-solve to accomplish a task. She also showed me that obstacles were meant to be overcome not to stifle progress.

I think these lessons should be applied by all business owners when going about their day-to-day operations. Actually, everyone should apply these lessons in their daily lives because this type of attitude is what built this country into an economic superpower. We need more people with my mom’s determination and business sense today.

Have a great week applying lessons from my mother.

Written by pacelinebiz

June 2, 2014 at 8:01 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We learn so much from our parents at an early age but do not realize how important their wisdom is until we are much older. If only I knew then what I know now.

    Donnie

    June 2, 2014 at 10:17 am


Leave a Reply

