The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Nicknames

with one comment

What's In A Name?

What’s In A Name?

Some people have nicknames and some never get a nickname.  Some people nickname everybody they know.  In my life I have heard some pretty good nicknames that were creative and I will list them below.  Nicknames like stretch or Shorty aren’t going to cut it to make it on my list.

  • Special Ed – this was for a person named Ed who taught special education and was named Ed.  I think most people who knew Ed thought he was special.
  • Eddie Spaghetti – this was another nickname for Special Ed and it has a nice ring to it but is not as clever as Special Ed.
  • Z-Man – this was the nickname of my college roommate in my freshman year.  It was a shortening of his name that ended with s-k-i
  • G-Man – this was the nickname of another friend of mine in college who got this because his last name began with the letter G although it was a very common last name.  Maybe it didn’t make sense but it just sort of worked out that way in an irrational need for sobriquet symmetry.
  • Jellybread – This was a nickname of someone my dad knew and I guess he liked bread with jelly on it.  I wouldn’t mind this nickname.  It sounds like a nickname for an old blues musician.
  • Buster – this was a nickname that I got from Special Ed.  It came about when I was constantly digging up my lawn and creating flower beds I told him I was sodbustin’.  It kind of stuck and turned into buster of sod and then quickly just buster.
  • The Godfather – I created this moniker for an Italian friend of mine who knows everybody and people of all walks of life seek his advice so it kind of works.
  • …and finally the best one of all…
  • Jimmy Sad Eyes – By now everyone should be familiar with the story of Jimmy Sad Eyes.  If not, read about him here, here and here.

This is what you get if you search Google for “Jimmy Sad Eyes”

Have a great week and enjoy the unofficial beginning of summer.

Written by pacelinebiz

May 26, 2014 at 8:01 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nicknames – Mine is wombat. Derived from many exchanges with my daughter in college. I called her baby at an d she called me momma bat
    which became wombat. My license plate is wombats
    and my son in law calls me bat. I love this.

    Kathy Murauskas

    May 26, 2014 at 7:40 pm


Leave a Reply

