The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

A Simple Treat

leave a comment »

On the last day of January, I had some pork chops that I defrosted earlier in the week and never used so I decided we would have them for dinner that night. I was not in the mood to do anything special nor could I pull off a culinary masterpiece.  So I went to an old crock pot favorite.  Its simplicity is only rivaled by its effectiveness of delivering tender, juicy pork chops to my tummy.  So I got the crock pot out and a bottle of special barbeque sauce made locally and this is what I did. 

I measured out a cup of the barbeque sauce and put half of it in the bottom of the crock pot and then placed the pork chops (boneless) in the pot and covered them with the remaining half cup of sauce and turned it on low for 6-8 hours. Then I walked away and let time do its magic.  Just before dinner time I made some brown rice and peas to go with the chops and served it in our dining room with the lights dialed down to a warm candle light glow.  It was perfect on a cold night. It was such a simple meal but it was one of the best meals I had in a while.  I guess I was looking for some comfort and I got it!  After dinner I had such a good feeling that I commented to my wife several times.  It has been a while since I had a meal that put a smile on my face that lasted through the night.

I suppose if I tried to recreate the same experience at a later date it would not be the same.  I would not be able to replicate all of the various things going on around me that led to this being such a sublime experience.   I still have the memories of that night and I can always replay it in my mind and that way it is even better – no calories!

Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

March 3, 2014 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

