The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Start The Year On An Upward Spiral

leave a comment »

I see this going up

I see this going up

When you are trying to grow your business, solve a problem for a client, or tackle any number of issues that confront you as a small business owner; recognize that you may not be able to overcome the problem.  Yes, you might fail.

Today, I want to remind you that there are things that you can’t fix due to factors outside of your control which will make it impossible for you to succeed.  Imagine how a banker felt trying to make a loan in 2009 during the financial crisis. This thought came to me recently as I was daydreaming. Apparently my mind was working in the background and this fact bubbled up to the forefront of my consciousness.

What I am saying is there are problems that are too big for you or any ONE individual to solve and you need to try your best to recognize when this is happening.   Putting it another way, try to focus on things you can control and look for the best alternative solution to fix a problem outside of your capabilities.  Half a loaf of bread is better than none at all.  I think I have frustrated myself many times trying to do the impossible.  In 2014, I am going to resolve to do my best to recognize when I am facing a no win situation and settle for the best possible solution I can provide.

I think this will result in some positive things.

  • I will not waste my time on the impossible
  • I will feel much better about myself since I will not have to own the failure of doing the impossible
  • Success in doing what I can accomplish may lead to a breakthrough (eating the elephant one bite at a time)
  • The above 3 items will build momentum and more time working with a positive attitude will lead to an upward rather than a downward spiral

Have a great week succeeding at things within your control and recognizing when you face a problem out of your control.  I hope I can carry this idea forward in 2014 and hope you can to. 

Written by pacelinebiz

January 13, 2014 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

