The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

A Lot Has Happened Since 1992

with 3 comments

1992

As I write this on September 10th, the Pittsburgh Pirates and their fans woke up today with the assurance that they would have a winning season for the first time since 1992.  I have written about this and talked about it quite a bit over the past couple of months as it appeared they were going to finally break through.  As I was lying in bed last night after the clinching 1-0 victory over the Texas Rangers I was thinking about how long that stretch was.  Of course, I also thought I should blog about it.

Since the last winning season in 1992:

  • I have moved 4 times to 3 different states.   From Ohio to Pennsylvania, from Pennsylvania back to Ohio, from Ohio to Ohio and from Ohio to Georgia
  • We elected three, two term presidents – Clinton, Bush and Obama.
  • The world population went from 5.5 billion to 7.1 billion – a 1.6 billion increase.
  • The US population went from 255 million to 314 million.  That’s 59 million Americans that never experienced a winning Pirate team.
  • I turned 30, 40 and recently 50.  That’s gross.  I’ll let you decide what I mean by gross; the lack of winning or my age.
  • Rock and roll died.
  • I bought 6 cars.  Read about them here.
  • The New York Yankees won five World Series Championships.
  • The Florida (now Miami) Marlins joined the league in 1993 AND HAVE WON 2 WORLD SERIES CHAMPIONSHIPS!  Just think about that for a minute.
  • Babies born on the day of the Sid Bream slide would have been old enough to drink alcohol on October 14th 2013.  That is over 7,600 days.
  • Derek Jeter of those Yankees got 3,316 hits as of 9/10/13
  • Barry Bonds, who thankfully never wore a Pirate uniform again disgraced himself as he went on to hit many steroid aided home runs.  Yet he was unable to throw out a one legged man that fateful night at home plate who was attempting to score from second base on a fairly shallow single.
  • Despite what the previous bullet point may indicate, my bitterness about that loss has waned.
  • Our national debt has gone from $4 Trillion to $17 Trillion.
  • The compact disc proliferated and became obsolete as has the desktop computer.
  • My allegiance to the Pirates has remained steady.  Is that loyalty or stupidity?  Don’t answer that.

Have a great week.  I know I will.

Written by pacelinebiz

October 7, 2013 at 8:01 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug, I’m glad that your faithfulness to the Pirates has finally been rewarded. Having lived in Denver and been a Broncos fan for many years before John Elway appeared in training camp, I can relate to the way you must be feeling now. Many happy returns for you and the rest of the Pirate fans.
    I can wait to find out in another blog posting who Sid Bream was and why his slide warrants mention, but you have raised my curiosity. Also, not being much of a baseball fan, I am curious about Barry Bonds inability to throw out the one legged man you mentioned. It kind of makes me think of Dr. Richard Kimball and the one-armed man from The Fugitive … but I digress.

    Bruce taylor

    October 7, 2013 at 1:21 pm


Leave a Reply

