The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

The 8 Track Tape And Other Things That Are No More

leave a comment »

No More Loose Change!

No More Loose Change!

I was thinking about how long it has been since the Pittsburgh Pirates had a winning season (1992) and I started thinking about this topic.  I thought it would be neat to take a look at things that were once a part of every day life that are now all but extinct.  Some of these were gone by 1992 and some were still around but on the way out.

  • Full Service gasoline stations.  I did a little research on this and as of last year Oregon and New Jersey were the only two states that do not allow self-service.  For all the other 48 states full service filling stations are almost extinct.  I have not seen a full service filling station in quite a while but I am sure there are a few around.  Yes, I said “filling station”.
  • Pay phones.
  • Vending machines for cigarettes.  I don’t know when or if they were outlawed but I have not seen one for probably 25 years.  I remember seeing the stern warning sticker on the machines that said “Cigarettes are outlawed for minors” That was a real deterrent.
  • A change purse.  This was that plastic thing that was used to keep your change from being loose in your pocket.  It was usually an advertising give away.   Rather than describe it any further see the picture above:
  • Parcel pick up at grocery stores.  In case you do not know what I mean by this I will describe it.   Each grocery cart had a number that was attached to it and one that you kept.   You would take your cart to the designated area where a stock boy would wait for you as you went to your car and then he would load your car with the groceries from your cart.  It was a nice feature and I believe there are still some grocery stored that continue this today.  It might have been done to keep carts from rolling around the parking lot unattended and creating an insurance liability due to “door dings”.
  • A price “gun” that had small stickers with the price for items at various stores.  Before that there was a mechanical stamper that had ink to print the price on the item.   I usually remember these at grocery stores.  The UPC code did a good job of saving lots of time pricing items and it could also be integrated into the inventory system.
  • The portable typewriter.  Even the word processor that replaced the typewriter is no more.  Technology moves at a rapid pace.  I remember taking a typing class (using a fancy IBM Selectric) in high school as a joke thinking I would never need those skills.  I wish I learned how to type because now everyone needs those skills.  Let’s hope the voice recognition technology from the smart phone is employed on computers soon and the keyboard can become optional.

Have a great week, I hope you enjoyed walking down memory lane or if you don’t remember those things learning a little bit about life before you were issued a smart phone at age 7.

Written by pacelinebiz

September 23, 2013 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

