The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

The Stupid Things We Say

leave a comment »

Hot enough for you?

Hot enough for you?

For whatever reason we all say things that are really stupid and don’t realize it until it is too late or sometimes not at all.  I think Comedian Bill Engvall made millions off of this fact with his “here’s your sign” comedy routine.

I know someone who is very dear to me who has a habit of saying things that irritate me but she doesn’t realize it or mean to be irritating so I just bite my tongue and follow golden rule.  I think it is the golden rule but maybe it was something from a Disney movie.  The rule I am talking about is; if you have nothing good to say, say nothing.

The other day, this unnamed loved one did it again.  I had just gotten done cutting the grass, and went upstairs to take a shower.  It was a warm afternoon in Georgia with the temperature and humidity running at about 88 each.  I was red-faced, dripping with sweat, had grass clippings sticking to my wet skin and my clothes were soaked and clinging to my body.   Let me add that before going upstairs I had to drink about a quart of iced tea to quench my dry, hot pipes. As I went in she asked me a doozy; “Is it hot outside?”  I nearly blew up but as a sign I have gained maturity I followed the golden rule and simply hopped in the shower and lathered up and let the steam leak out of my ears, camouflaged nicely, I might add by the hot shower water.

Another question that this certain loved one asks that causes the steam to begin to overflow and raise my blood pressure is to ask me; “what’cha doing?” when I am in the middle of what I believe to be a very obvious task.  Usually this task is messy or difficult and I am doing my best to avoid dropping some colorful language.  Again, I just practice the golden rule.

I admit I am not immune to this annoying practice either.  When this loved one is struggling with a heavy load such as carrying groceries, I will ask from the couch; “need any help?”  I am sure this doesn’t go over very well on the receiving end.  I guess we are all guilty of this practice and in addition to practicing the golden rule we should also remember Engvall’s law.

Have a great week being surrounded by stupid people – including yourself.

Written by pacelinebiz

August 19, 2013 at 8:01 am

Leave a Reply

