The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

LinkedIn, Rest In Peace?

with one comment

R.I.P. LinkedIn

R.I.P. LinkedIn

I joined LinkedIn by invitation in the fall of 2007 not knowing what it was. I was invited by one of my seminar attendees and felt obligated to join to keep a customer happy. I still have the email I sent asking that person what this new thing was all about.

After that I took a seminar on how to effectively use LinkedIn and began applying the knowledge I acquired. One of those things was to use groups to “softly” promote your business and to use the contacts of your contacts as a way to meet new potential customers via an introduction.

Fast forward 3 or 4 years to today and this is my assessment of the state of affairs at, Facebook, I mean LinkedIn. The problems, as I see it, are:

Endorsements – this has become ridiculous. I am being endorsed for skills that the endorser does not even understand. The endorsement has been ruined by the Facebook “like” effect.

Spam proliferation in open groups – now that most groups are open, there is no one minding the store to keep out spammers. I am not talking about a recruiter using the group to solicit employers or job seekers. I am talking about scams or posts about get rich quick schemes or instant weight loss.

Open groups with too many members – I am in group that now has over 120,000 members and the signal to noise ratio is way out of balance. In a given week there may be 200 discussions with maybe 200 comments. Most discussions have no comments and 5 or 10 have the bulk of the comments. Everyone is talking in these groups but no one is listening. To me that is not communication.

LIONS – LinkedIn open networkers. These people can have 10,000 or more contacts but they know or met only several hundred of that amount. How can you give a referral or expect a referral from someone you have never met?  What happened to the concept of “know trust and like”?

I believe you still can use LinkedIn as it was intended but the user experience, at least for me, has greatly diminished.  I would not be surprised if a new company decides out of necessity to build a better mouse trap and begins to challenge LinkedIn. In the mean time, I will continue to use the product but I am losing patience.  The idea is a good one but the company has allowed itself to be taken over by the spammers and the bad elements that exist on the internet.  I suppose they are focusing on maximizing their ad revenue but if they are not careful, they will not have any more eyeballs looking at those ads.

Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

August 5, 2013 at 8:01 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great article Doug! One of your best to date.

    Steven Williams

    August 12, 2013 at 9:34 pm


Leave a Reply

