The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

DIY Gardening And Sticking It To The Man

leave a comment »

Nature's Bounty

Nature’s Bounty

On April 10, 2013 I took a big step towards sticking it to the man, or so I thought.  That day I bought the following items for my garden:

 Garden purchases 2

As I drove out of the parking lot of the store I was fiendishly laughing at how I was about to embark on an adventure which would stick it to the man.  The big, publicly traded grocery store chain would have slumping sales this summer in my corner of Georgia.  A down grade of their stock was surely imminent I thought.  Perhaps I should take a large short position in their stock and cash in later this summer as revenues miss analysts’ estimates?

That was on April 10th.  As I write this on May 6th, my plans are going awry.  Since I planted my garden 3 weeks ago on April 15th, we have had 4 sunny days, 7 inches of rain and it has been almost 2 degrees below the average temperature.  One head of romaine has fizzled leaving me with 8 plants to fulfill my dreams of slashing my grocery bill.   As I re-assess my plan let’s look at the numbers.  Those 9 heads of romaine cost me $3.77 with sales tax.  Incidentally, why on earth is there sales tax on plants?  Isn’t there are prohibition on taxing food?  If so, then wouldn’t it make sense that the purchase of the raw materials for food – vegetable plants and seeds be non-taxable?  I looked at a recent bill and an organic head or heart of romaine lettuce costs about $1.15 so if those remaining 8 heads make it to the dinner table in a salad I will have saved a whopping $5.43 for the effort.  At 57 cents a pound at retail, my $19.02 investment in tomatoes better yield 33.37 pounds of vine ripened beauties. I think that is possible since the big boy tomato is about a pound on average. If I can manage 11 tomatoes per plant I will have recouped my investment. 

I guess my plans of saving big bucks on my grocery bill are not looking too good right now.  I will keep you posted on my progress throughout the growing season.  Have a great week, reaping what you sow…

Written by pacelinebiz

May 13, 2013 at 8:02 am

Leave a Reply

