The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Smart Phone + Smart TV + Dumb User = Trouble

with one comment

Help Me

Help Me

I wrote about my experiences with my move to a high-definition TV several times.  Read about them here and here.  The TV I bought was a smart TV since it is Wi-Fi enabled and can interact with other devices in the same network.    I recently stepped up and bought a smart phone and can now waste time watching YouTube videos like this one when I should be helping clients by Turning Things On End To Achieve Results!

As I write this I have had the smart phone for less than a week but it is nice to be able to get my emails and surf the web for directions without having a GPS.  My problem with all this technology is how can I keep up with it and use it to its full potential.  As an example, I was playing a song on my new phone upstairs in my bedroom trying to learn how to make a playlist and all of a sudden I did something and the song was playing on the Smart TV downstairs!  I found this to be very interesting but my wife didn’t like me interrupting her “stories” with a noisy guitar solo. 

I think the manufacturers of these products must be required to make these smart devices safe for all people to use.  In other words, idiot proof them before rolling them out.  If not that, then upon purchasing one of the devices you are issued a 10-year-old on loan for 6 weeks to walk you through the learning process.  I believe that is a reasonable accommodation for teaching dumb people to how to use these smart products.  On the other hand, if these products were so smart we wouldn’t have to learn how to use them.

Have a great week embracing technology.

Written by pacelinebiz

March 18, 2013 at 8:37 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on DeborahBidwell's Blog and commented:
    sounds like when we got new “smart phones” and hubby didnt couldn’t get the phone to work, gave it to me to fix, then his phone got too close to my phone and they sync’d. So he now has his original problem then I had it too but he had all my music (of which he doesn’t listen to half of it) oooo that was a fun weekend, took both phones to the store and now have them back and back to factory defaults. now if he needs something done on the phone he makes sure it is FAR away from my phone to prevent another sync.

    deborahbidwell

    March 18, 2013 at 10:07 am


Leave a Reply

