The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

A Business Lesson From The Delta House (Delta Airlines)

with one comment

Thumbs Up To Delta

Thumbs Up To Delta

I wrote about Delta airlines last fall and my comments were not very flattering.   Well, to be fair I had an experience with Delta Airlines that needs to be reported and can serve as a nice business lesson.  I was booking a flight for travel later this month and made a mistake on my return flight that forced me to cancel and re-book it.  I tried to re-book the flight and was unable to do so noting however that the fee to change the flight was $150.00.  I was nervous to say the least as I was directed to call the number on my Delta frequent flyer card.   I called the number and was put into a cue of callers but I elected to receive a call back within 5 to 6 minutes from a representative.  I hung up and was skeptical.  Sure enough, 5 minutes later I got a call from a nice lady that who handled my problem and informed me that there was a 24 hour grace period and that there would be no fee to change my flight.  She proceeded to take my information and in minutes a bad day just got much better.

So, what is the lesson?  There are a couple of lessons that I took from this incident (which was totally my fault.) The first was how much goodwill Delta earned by simply being fair.  I don’t know if all airlines have this 24 hour “bonehead” rule but I assume most do.  In today’s business environment, especially when dealing with a huge company expectations are very low.  So low that just by being treated fairly I was blown away. 

The second lesson is that much of the competition is sub par and by just doing what is right will set you apart.  Keep in mind that doing what is right is the bare bones minimum of how a company should act – just above ripping someone off.  Taking that thought further, do a little extra and you will be superstar.   If you do a lot more than required your praises will be sung far and wide.  I hope no one is satisfied with doing a little better than the competition.  Make it your customer service goal to blow away the competition and higher profits will be your reward.

Have a great week rising above your competition.

Written by pacelinebiz

March 11, 2013 at 8:05 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I teach customer service classes frequently, and one of the ideas I always leave my students is to do that little bit more for their customers…which generally goes a long way in terms of customer perception and loyalty. Going the extra mile or giving lagniappe (or “a little something extra” as we say down here in Louisiana) will pay off in dividends for business who adopts that philosophy.

    Scott Morgan

    March 11, 2013 at 11:18 am


Leave a Reply

