The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Almond Joy? Not If You Ask The Coconut.

leave a comment »

I am a person too!

The Almond Joy candy bar was originally made by Peter Paul candy which was bought out by Hershey in the late 1970’s. It is the cousin of the Mounds bar the difference being the dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate and the 2 almonds found in the Almond Joy.  It was introduced in 1946 and the Mounds bar in 1920.  The two candies are usually linked together in advertising with the 1970’s era slogan of “sometimes you feel like a nut and sometimes you don’t” continuing to this day.  The Almond Joy is a wonderful candy bar.  It is not my favorite but I have a very positive feeling about it.  Since I don’t have it very often I would probably choose it if given a choice between several of the famous names like Reese’s Peanut butter Cup, Snickers or Butterfinger.

Now that I have given you a brief history of the 2 candy bars and my opinion of it, let me begin grinding my axe.  Today, it finally occurred to me that this candy bar, the Almond Joy, is quite frankly poorly named.  It is not the Almond that should get top billing but the coconut.  I understand that the reason the Almond is emphasized is to differentiate itself from the Mounds bar but why not call it the Almound?  At least that would be a neat play on words and relate it to its older cousin.  I am outraged by the total and complete snubbing that the coconut gets from the maker of this wonderful snack. 

Have a great week and hug a coconut next time you see one, it probably wouldn’t mind the attention.

Written by pacelinebiz

January 7, 2013 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

