The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Christmas… And Food

leave a comment »

Good Mood Food

In case there are some new readers to this blog, I need to let you know that every year in December, my topics all have a Christmas theme.  I will resume the regular pattern of alternating between business topics and non-business topics in January.  I have linked a few favorite Christmas topics from years past below that you may want to read or re-read.

2011

2010

2009

Today’s topic is food associated with Christmas.  The first thing I think of is fruitcake.  I suppose many people think of that too.  Most people have a negative opinion but mine is neutral.  It is not my favorite but I don’t believe it deserves the bad rap it gets.  Another “food” that I recall is our family tradition – Christmas cookies.  My mom would make about 27 different varieties every year when I was a kid and I miss them just thinking about it.  Speaking of sweets, the next thing that readily comes to mind is nut roll.  My mom makes the best nut roll in the entire world and you could argue that someone else does but you would be wrong.  You may think I am exaggerating but anyone that has ever had it has agreed that it is the best in the world.  She is also prettier than your mom too but that is a topic for another day – perhaps Mother’s Day 2013?  The rest of my list is composed of foods that aren’t desserts.  Can you tell I have a sweet tooth?

  • Ham – a large one, maybe even spiral sliced and coated with a sweet glaze usually served with scalloped potatoes
  • Turkey with all the trimmings, including the carbohydrate overload combination of potatoes AND stuffing.
  • Homemade, smoked, hot sausage.  This is a long gone tradition as it was made by my Great-Uncle who died in 1977.  I have never had better sausage than what he made.
  • Crusty, fresh-baked bread and rolls.  My mom made homemade bread frequently throughout the year but went all out around the holidays.  Warm bread from the oven and some butter is worth the hit to your cholesterol level!

That is all for now because I am too hungry thinking about this to write any more.   Have a great week dreaming of your favorite holiday feast.

Written by pacelinebiz

December 10, 2012 at 9:05 am

Leave a Reply

