The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

High Def Has Arrived To My Low Def World

with 2 comments

Television is now TV

Last November I ranted about High Definition Television and proudly proclaimed that I did not own one and would not own one until my old tube television broke.  I am here to boldly tell you that I WAS WRONG!  As I write this, I am having a High Def TV (yes TV not television) delivered to my house.  My tube TV works fine with picture quality as good as the day it came out of the box near the turn of the century!  However; I did not lie to you in my blog last year when I said I would not buy one until my old one broke.  Apparently there are invisible forces in play that I was unaware of at the time – my wife and her remodeling plans.  So, today about 11 months after I drew the line in the sand, I am entering the high def world, low def eyes be damned.

As I queried salesmen and researched online I learned a lot of how much I was “missing”.  Our new TV is a 47 inch LED, 1080p, 120 Hz, Wi-Fi enabled, 3D picture wonder of modern technology.  We sampled the 3D picture effects at the store with the stylish 3D glasses (that come free with the TV) for a minute or two and I promptly got eye strain and a headache.  I won’t be using that feature for sure as I can get a headache by eating ice cream real fast and that is a much better experience before the onset of the pain.  (Incidentally, I am on a Coffee Ice Cream kick right now.)  Now I can post videos to Facebook with my TV!  Too bad I somehow missed the Facebook craze and never got an account. 

As I enter this brave new world of high def, I will periodically keep you posted on my experiences.  I am sure you are wondering if I have a blue ray DVD player so that I can get the maximum out of my new TV.  Not surprisingly, the answer to that is no.  My DVD player is not blue and I call it Drew V. Donaldson when I am engaging it in a formal conversation and simply DVD when we are shooting the breeze over a refreshing beverage.  Do I plan to stream content using Netflix, Hulu or Hulu+ for only a few dollars a month?  What do you think? When I hear the words stream content, I think of fish, water and other stuff that floats in a babbling brook.

Before I continue babbling, let me end and wish you a good week full of high-definition images for your low def eyes.

Written by pacelinebiz

October 8, 2012 at 9:12 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bravo, I like what I am reading. I want to use some American slang but you know me. My slang education stopped with you moving out of Ohio. Kudos to remodeling and the C girl.

    Vikas Saini

    October 8, 2012 at 10:59 am

    • Vikas,

      Thanks for the comment. I am sorry I am not in Ohio to provide the American slang you crave – you are a better man for it! You can always watch some reality TV if you want to be “dumbed down” a bit. 🙂

      pacelinebiz

      October 8, 2012 at 11:40 am


Leave a Reply

