The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

iPad Review – Update

with 2 comments

The iPad By Apple

In 2010 I reviewed the first generation iPad that my wife won at a conference. Read about it here. Today, I am writing the first draft of this blog on that very same iPad. I have inherited it since she recently upgraded to the iPad 2. I just began using it about two weeks ago and this is the first time I have had a chance to use it to compose anything other than a short email. I will say that I have found it useful for browsing the web and reading emails as I am in bed preparing to shut down for the night. I also can tell you that the touch screen keyboard is as effective as a regular keyboard. That is probably because I hunt and peck just as badly using either method. For a person who is a better typist the touch screen is probably slower.

I will stand by my original review which said it is a good productivity enhancer but it will not replace the laptop for a person who uses spreadsheets. It is not without its quirks either as at times it will close out an application or browser session for no apparent reason. I also am very much against the iTunes method of updating music and other files. Interestingly enough the iPad 2 comes with only 16 gig of memory despite the fact that it has a camera that could contribute to filling up the memory. Of course apple has a solution; you can get additional iCloud storage. Apple offers 20 GB for $40 per year or 50GB for $100 per year.

I find that to be sneaky and costly as it adds up to $120 or $300, depending on your needs over the estimated 3 year life of the iPad.  Don’t forget that even though the life of an iPad might be 3 years before you want to upgrade, you need that storage for your media and documents forever or as long as you want to use them.  That arrogant attitude and the iTunes “handcuffs” will keep me from owning another apple product such as an iPhone. There will come a day, I believe that a competitor without those restrictive requirements will make a product that will force a change in Apple’s policy or it may face loss of market share. There is no doubt the product is elegant and very intuitive to use which I applaud but I give two big thumbs down on the clumsy iTunes and sneaky way they wring out every last dollar from their users.

Before I end let me say that I am new Apple user and if I was more familiar with their “system” I might not react so negatively to it.  It makes me wonder how they can get people so devoted to their products with such a high hurdle to jump when converting from the non-Apple/PC world.  Perhaps the Apple devotees say the same thing about the blue screen of death that PC users shrug off as a routine glitch.

Have a great week and take a bite out of Apple – you might like it.

Written by pacelinebiz

October 1, 2012 at 9:12 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love my I pad for the ease of surfing the net and the fun apps that are free. I rarely use my PC but I do need the PC for some things.

    Kathy

    October 1, 2012 at 10:19 am

    • Dont get me started on Apple. I had to get an iPhone 5 for work to learn how to use the phone for support and while smooth and fluid, there are just some things I do not like. Thats even taking out Apple’s “we will let you use your device how we want you to” attitude. I guess if you are deep into their ecosystem you may not care how they treat you and what options they decide to let you have.

      MGD

      October 2, 2012 at 8:00 am


Leave a Reply

