The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Food And Wine Favorites

with one comment

Food And Wine, try some today

When I was thinking of what to write today I was hungry so I started thinking about what to eat and decided I would use that as my inspiration.   As I was mentally grazing on a feast, I prepared a quick list of some of my favorites – at least for now.  Along with my meals I figured I better include some of my favorite wines to wash it down.  Enjoy my list.

  • Pizza
  • Pasta with sausage and peppers
  • Stuffed cabbage/peppers
  • Grilled steak
  • Grilled natural casing Hot dog with Cole slaw, chili sauce, sweet relish and mustard toppings
  • Beef brisket barbecue
  • Roasted chicken and mashed potatoes
  • Beer battered Fish and chips

As you can tell from my list, it is very basic – far from haute cuisine.  It is comfort food but I like to go to what works for me.  It took me about 45 years to try fish!  I also listed some wines that I enjoy although the two lists are not necessarily meant to go together.

Red wines:

  • Cote Du Rhone – I like the Grenache-Syrah-Mourvedre blend that is typical of this region.
  • Syrah- France has my taste in this Grape.  I generally dislike the fruity rendition popularized in Australia.
  • Zinfandel – As long as they are not too overboard on the alcohol and fruitiness I like most of this from California.
  • Chianti – Sangiovese and other grapes are blended to make this a great wine with red sauces. 
  • Barbera – I prefer the Hanna-Barbera but most people won’t understand.
  • Pinot Noir – This is one grape that I prefer the New World (California) style to the European style.  This is most well-known from the Burgundy region of France.  Very acidic so it pairs well with most any food.  The California style I like is fruitier and less acidic.  I never had nor could I afford good Burgundy from France.
  • Grenache – At my price level this is mostly a simple wine with some spicy notes.  I had a very interesting bottle from the Gigondas region in France but most of what I enjoy is low-end stuff from Spain.
  • Pinotage – An odd tasting wine usually from South Africa.  To me it has a minty note in the finish that is intriguing.
  • Petite Sirah – This is a wine I enjoy when I want a big, jammy glass of refreshment, a guilty pleasure.

White Wines:

  • Sauvignon Blanc – New Zealand has an interesting take on this grape
  • Riesling – some good ones come from the Finger Lakes region in New York state
  • Bordeaux – even modest ones can be very pleasing and food friendly
  • Chardonnay – yes, Chardonnay
  • Moscato – must be from Italy
  • Gewurztraminer – hard to pronounce but a good one is very interesting
  • Chenin Blanc from Vouvray region – this grape is very sensitive to the climate so unless you are up on the vintages you might be disappointed.  This is one reason to have a reliable wine shop as the owner can point you in the right direction and get your best bang for the buck.

I hope you were able to read without getting too hungry.  Have a good week feasting on your favorite dish.

Written by pacelinebiz

September 24, 2012 at 9:16 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loved this. I love wine. Nice summary.

    Kathy

    September 24, 2012 at 9:54 am


Leave a Reply

