The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Back To School Memories

leave a comment »

The wheels on the bus go round and round

In the next 2 weeks, almost all schools will be back in session.  Some schools in Northwest Georgia went back on August 1st.  That is crazy if you ask me.  When I was in elementary school I think we went back the last week of August or early September.   I can remember in 6th grade we had a teacher’s strike and did not go back to school until early October and did not get out until late June.  My dad had planned a 1 month vacation in a Winnebago starting on June 6th.   Read about it here.    I think I only went to about 160 days of school that year but I managed to do just fine in 7th grade. 

Some things I remember about going back to school:

Getting new clothes.  I can remember one year (late 1970’s) that corduroy was a real popular alternative to blue jeans.  I also remember getting a corduroy winter coat – an alternative to the jean jacket.  I actually liked upgrading my clothes for the new year although by the time I was in high school I usually wore a T-shirt with a silk screen image of some sort on it.

Catching up with the buddies and seeing how much everyone changed.  This was especially dramatic in the Junior High years when some guys would grow 6 inches over the summer and the girls also grew in areas that were particularly “noticeable”.

Getting homesick.  I remember in first grade I was homesick for my mom.  I was two years behind my older brother so for two years when he was in school I had her all by myself most of the time.  I can remember that being very cool.  What a shock when I had to go all day without her!  I did not have this problem in kindergarten for some reason perhaps because it was only a half-day.  When I was entering kindergarten it was not required and my district did not offer it so I went to a neighboring school.  That makes me sound old, but it is an anomaly I assure you.

I hope everyone has a good kick off to the new school year regardless what stage of life you are in.  I only regret the beginning of school because that means traffic will be worse.   Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

August 20, 2012 at 9:22 am

Leave a Reply

