The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Mr. McGregor And Peter Rabbit

with 4 comments

Evil Rabbit

I am vexed and miffed.  I have been a victim of a wild horde of green-leaf eating rabbits.  I planted a black-eyed Susan, asters, petunias, coreopsis, and a cone flower and all have been decimated and nibbled down to a nub with nothing left.  My roses, daisy’s and verbena are all untouched so far.  I can’t understand what makes my flowers so attractive when there is a forest full of vegetation out of harm’s way next to my property.  I take this as a personal assault on me by these critters.

Jimmy Sad Eyes is not a fan of Rabbits either and growls fiercely at them from inside the house.  I often wonder if they can even hear him as they appear to be quite content to carry on as poor Jimmy rages out of control.

Below are some pictures of the devastation as well as some pictures of before they laid my flower garden to waste.  I have tried some commercial remedies but have not had any luck.  I have been threatening to buy a Red Ryder BB gun with a compass in the stock and go rabbit hunting but I am afraid I would just shoot my eye out.  Does anyone have a good recipe for hasenpfeffer?  Try this one out if you are interested.

Have a great week and try some rabbit stew for your 4th of July festivities.  I highly recommend it.

Rabbit food

Rabbit salad

Written by pacelinebiz

July 2, 2012 at 9:29 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Doug, my Dad used the BB gun approach. However, some people swear that if you plant marigolds around the garden it keeps the critters out. It has something to do with the smell. Good Luck!

    Beth Ward

    July 2, 2012 at 11:37 am

  2. Hey Doug. Yeah we have the rabbit ‘infestation’ too. However, short of fencing, we have found that rabbits don’t like garlic/garlic plants due to the smell. If that is too intense for ya, plant sprigs of lavender around prized plants. Its funny to see a rabbit with lavender… they avoid it like the plague! You can also plant clove/wild onion plants close to your prized greens. Neighboring plants will absorb the clove/onion taste and the rabbits can’t stand it.

    Another method to try is to plant some catnip/catmint around your flowers. The catnip smell will deters the little creatures but also invites in one of their predators – the filthy neighborhood cat. You may enjoy the preservation of your flowering plants but the ‘extra fertilization’ that this option often brings may not be a desired side effect.

    Unfortunately, you will always find that one cotton tail that will defy all odds to get that beautiful bloom. There is no stopping these. You can usually spot them though… they are the one’s dragging a shopping bag around, wearing tight looped chain mail with a clothespin firmly clipped on their nose!

    ‘God save the plants’ !

    Terry Zagar

    July 5, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    • Thanks for the suggestions but my fence has worked well so far for the garden. I will post pictures as a follow up in a week or two. Some of the flowers are making a comeback too.

      pacelinebiz

      July 6, 2012 at 7:30 am

  3. You can get sprays at ACE hardware that will discourage the rabbitts!

    Sigurd Hoyer

    July 5, 2012 at 9:41 pm


Leave a Reply

