The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Song Title Contradictions

leave a comment »

Dazed and confused

Let me begin this week by saying I really enjoy writing these non-business blogs.  It gives me an opportunity to be creative which I can’t do as an accountant.  No one likes an overly creative accountant – they usually end up in jail.

Today’s topic: Songwriters and their contradictory song titles.  Perhaps the songs in their full context aren’t contradictory but their titles sure are.  The idea for this came as I was sitting at my computer trying to figure out what to write and Carole King’s song It’s Too Late came on and for some reason Will You Love Me Tomorrow? came to mind and it is struck me that it was a bit contradictory.

Carole King

From her early career she wrote: Will you love me tomorrow?  Then had a hit mid-career with It’s too late.    I guess she answered her question.

Crosby Stills and Nash

Dark Star from about 1977 then Daylight Again from the early 80’s.  What happened to the Dark Star?  Did it become bright and hence it was Daylight Again?

The Beatles

They wrote Happiness is a Warm Gun and All You Need is Love there is a contradiction in those titles in my opinion.

Bob Dylan

He wrote: I Want You and It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue  That certainly sends a mixed signal.

Chicago

They wrote: If You Leave Me Now and Wishing You Were Here  and also Call On Me Something tells me that relationship was bound to fail and they saw it coming but still longed for their old companion and then they were getting desperate asking for a phone call.

Creedence Clearwater Revival

They wrote Who’ll Stop The Rain? and Have you Ever Seen The Rain?  How can they go from wanting to stop the rain to asking if you have ever seen it?

The Eagles

Take It Easy seems the opposite of Take It To The Limit

The Police

So Lonely and Don’t Stand So Close To Me     Which one is it, do you want to be left alone or are you so lonely?

One thing I learned by writing this is I really have nothing new in my music collection.  Have a great week and take advantage of leap day.

Written by pacelinebiz

February 27, 2012 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

