The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

One Less Problem Makes The World A Better Place?

with 2 comments

Dry hands in about 10 seconds

What you see above is the answer to a simple problem that took decades to solve – the XLERATOR XL-SB.  Now, there is one less problem in this world.  Isn’t that wonderful?  It seems we always are hearing about new problems that have arisen in this world.  Whether it is a European sovereign debt crisis, identity theft or a variety of malicious cyber attacks the new issues seem to grow daily.  We never seem to hear about things we no longer have to worry about.

Please allow me to share my joy with you and let you join me in a celebratory dance as we forever put to bed the aggravation of the poorly designed and long despised public restroom hand dryer.  I feel so good about the demise of those awful wastes of metal.  Not only did they replace and improve the product, the replacement is an absolute home run.  These new hand dryers work wonderfully well and the only question I have is; what took so long?  Was it really so hard to put a turbo on the motors of these things?  We put a man on the moon over 40 years ago but it took until recently to get a decent hand dryer that actually dries your hands in about ten seconds.  The improvement over the former standard is completely unparalleled.  The only thing I can compare it to is when Babe Ruth hit 60 home runs in 1927 when the entire league only hit 425!

What other things do I want to go the way of the old, low powered hand dryer?  Below is a list of things that I want the people who solved the hand dryer problem to get working on pronto:

  • Good cell phone reception.  I constantly drop calls in the Atlanta suburbs that I frequent.  If I can’t good reception there then where can I?  I have literally been in the shadow of a cell tower cluster and have dropped calls.
  • Ala carte cable Television.   The technology exists to do it, let’s make it happen.
  • Better climate control at hotel/conference and similar facilities.  Why do I have to wear a sweater in the middle of summer when I go to one of these things?  The same goes for movie theatres.
  • An easy option to skip the outgoing message on cell phone voicemail.  I takes 47 seconds for me to listen my wife’s message and the standard message by the cell phone company.  I spend almost as much time using my cell phone as I do repeatedly listening to that stupid 47 second message. Why do I have to search extensively through the manual and internet to find out how to skip the outgoing message?
  • Hmmm, so far 2 items are related to cell phones.    While I am at it, how about a speaker in the earpiece of my cell phone that is loud enough for me to hear soft-spoken people?
  • Photoelectric eyes that work all the time, without fail, without delay or re-trying.  These failures of technology are mostly found in public restrooms so I guess we solve one problem and get a new one.  I spend almost as much time trying to get these things to work as I do listening to that 47 second outgoing message on my wife’s cell phone!  I saw a study that cited attempting to get one these things to work as the second worst time waster in the workplace after Facebook. Let me make a preemptive statement to defend myself.  I really do not spend that much time in public restrooms.
  • How about a side view mirror for your car that shows objects to be as close as they appear rather than being closer than they appear?   In my opinion, when they made the mirror that shows objects closer than they appear it just added more confusion in this age of technology overload.  When I look in the mirror I don’t want to re-calibrate what my eyes see because spending that extra amount of time might make me look at the mirror too long and I will run into the guy in front of me.  So how did this really help anything?  I don’t remember the old mirrors being a problem.  Why don’t they put this trickery to good use and make a scale with this warning: “objects on the scale are heavier than the display shows”?  I would much rather appear be 10 pounds lighter when I step on the scale.  Deceptive and possibly dangerous you say?  Well, it is just as dangerous as having a mirror from the fun house for my car’s side view mirror.

I guess that is enough ranting about the wonderful world of failed technology.  This was supposed to be a celebration of a technological triumph.  I am going to start my celebration dance now, have a great week knowing you can have dry hands in 10 seconds or less.

Written by pacelinebiz

January 30, 2012 at 10:16 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I know that some voicemails accept # as the skip, and some accept * as the skip. I just try one and if it sends me to their main menu, I know it’s the other one.

    Maybe we should all change our outgoing greeting to include the information on how to skip it in the future!

    Joe M. Turner

    January 30, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    • Great idea Joe. I would love to hear “press * to avoid my 47 second outgoing message”

      pacelinebiz

      January 30, 2012 at 1:18 pm


Leave a Reply

