The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

The 30 Year Old College Dorm Refrigerator

with 2 comments

Old reliable

(I have to thank my brother for suggesting this blog topic.)  Back in 1981 I bought a refrigerator for my dorm room; it cost $99 from Sears.  That same size refrigerator today is now $49.  In today’s dollars that $99 purchase in 1981 is equal to $251 after adjusting for inflation.  I don’t know what to think about that but I guess we can thank cheap labor in China for the decrease in price over time.  To run your own calculation for inflation adjusted prices click here.

After my first year of living in on campus housing, I moved to apartment living and I gave that refrigerator to my brother to use at his business.  It is still there and working to this day!  Incidentally, so is my brother’s business but that is probably a topic for another day.  That got me thinking about things that I have replaced over those 30+ years.  In that time span, I have had 8 cars, 8 watches, 4 computers (starting in 1992) and 12 addresses in 3 states.   In that same time we have had 5 U.S. Presidents, 4 Economic recessions, 3 NFL commissioners, 2 Chief Justices of the Supreme Court and 1 appearance by Halley’s comet. 

Even though the $99 price tag was a good bit of money in its day, I guess you could say it was a worthwhile purchase.  I checked with my brother to see if he could tell where that refrigerator was made and the only thing that he saw was a sticker that gave the vital statistics but no official information about where it was made.   I wonder if the $49 dorm room refrigerator made today will last for over 30 years.  My guess is no, it won’t. 

Have great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

January 2, 2012 at 10:32 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That’s a very good guess Doug. I used to buy “top of the line” everything, but today nothing is made to last.

    Mark Zangari

    January 2, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  2. Hi,
    My fridge was bought 37 years back, and is still in working condition. Though the company that manufactured it has gone out of business! And it is true they don’t make stuff, that can last many years, anymore.

    Jayalakshmi (@Vetrimagal)

    January 4, 2012 at 1:14 pm


Leave a Reply

