The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Low Def Eyes In A High Def World

with one comment

Dougie Downer

I just learned that the new iPhone 4S takes pictures in high def.  How wonderful.  Cable company’s argue who has more high def channels and television makers are continuously improving their high def picture quality.  I don’t own a high def television.  I also use the word television and not “TV”.  Don’t get me wrong one day I am going to buy a high def television.  I can tell you when as a matter of fact.  How so, you may ask?  Well, it is really simple. I am going to buy a high def television when my old, low def non-flat screen picture tube television no longer works.  I bet I buy one the same day the old one stops working.  I will however; not buy one a moment sooner.  The advertising budgets that are being spent by television companies are leading to very good results with market penetration well over 50%.   I am definitely in the minority by not owning a flat screen, high def television.  I also don’t have a smart phone.  I guess I have a dumb phone.  I am not anti technology, I just buy what I think makes the most sense for me.  I also do not replace something if I am told it is obsolete.   

In the business world if I fall behind in productivity or am unable to keep my customers happy because I need to upgrade technology then I do so without delay.  The same reason I have not upgraded to a home theatre sound system is why I have not upgraded to a high def television.  “Cheap” you may say? To that I respond with a resounding “nay”.  Why upgrade sooner than I have to when I have bad eyes and bad ears?  Too many years of working in loud environments as a kid and listening to music too loudly (digital music players with earphones haven’t helped much either) has diminished my hearing.  My eyes went bad all on their own starting at age 13.  Do not fret dear reader, I am probably years away from needing a hearing aid (and many years before I will face reality and stick one in my ear) but I find myself struggling to understand people in crowded rooms quite a bit. 

Well, what is my point you ask?  Actually, I don’t have one I was just warming up my angry old man routine.  Now get off of my lawn!  Back in my day…

Have a grumpy week, bah!

Written by pacelinebiz

November 14, 2011 at 11:11 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are starting to sound like someone I know and love as long as I don’t have to live with him. I couldn’t wait to buy hi def. I have three TV.s and digital cable. My husband has no cable, dial up internet, an old tv. His choice. I guess I am not a grumpy old lady.

    Kathy Murauskas

    November 14, 2011 at 12:28 pm


Leave a Reply

