The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

The Toy Hall Of Fame

with 6 comments

Not one of the 4 tops

I read recently that Twister, the game that ties you up in knots was nominated for the Toy Hall of Fame.   I did not know that there was such a thing but now I know better.  My first reaction was to think of some toys that I would consider for enshrinement.

Before I give my list let me give you some of the Toys already elected or enshrined.    See the complete list here.

  • Star Wars action figures
  • Hot Wheels
  • Simon (memory game)
  • The Pogo Stick
  • Rubik’s cube
  • Jenga
  • Crayola Crayons (1998)
  • Silly Putty(2001)
  • Cardboard box – I am not kidding (2005)
  • The Stick – I am not making this up either (2008)
  • Mr. Potato Head(2000)
  • Easy Bake Oven(2006)
  • Dungeons and Dragons
  • Radio Controlled Vehicles

I am fine with most of those but I did not know that Dungeons and Dragons was a toy since I never played it.  I never played Jenga either but I have seen advertisements for it.  How is a crayon a toy? I will share a funny story about the easy bake oven with you.  When I was 4 or 5 I wanted an easy bake oven for Christmas and Santa brought me one.  I guess you can say that the power of advertising over young minds is very strong.  I did not have it for very long as my dad was not too keen on his son having one.  My mom ended up giving it to one of my female cousins. 

Below is a list of a few toys that I believe should be nominated:

  • The walkie-talkie (read the Blog I posted called Two Rock Star Uncles to see how that toy affected my childhood)
  • Sorry
  • Uno
  • Matchbox cars
  • The chemistry set
  • Games like Horseshoes, Lawn Darts and Bocce
  • Pick-up sticks – does anyone else remember this?

I would like to hear some of your nominations for the Toy Hall of Fame.   Post a comment on your favorite toy that has not made it to the Hall of Fame yet.  Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

October 3, 2011 at 6:55 am

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A Slinky – oh what a wonderful toy

    My daughter campaigned for a slinky for Christmas one year. When she opened the tiny box she asked “what’s this?” Again, the power of advertising.

    Kathy Murauskas

    October 3, 2011 at 10:49 am

    • Ah yes, the slinky. They made it look so good on the commercial. What they didn’t tell you is that you had to figure out other cool things to do with it besides what they showed on the commercial. I guess you had to have an imagination. I would just let it go up and down from one hand to the other for minutes on end. Of course i also ate a lot of lead paint too!

      pacelinebiz

      October 3, 2011 at 9:23 pm

  2. Cabbage Patch Dolls.

    I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award.

    Keep it up.

    followingfunny

    October 3, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    • I think Cabbage Patch Dolls started the trend of parents fighting over the limited amount of supply on hand. What a disturbing trend. I wonder if it was a “created ” shortage?

      Thanks for the comment and nomination.

      pacelinebiz

      October 3, 2011 at 9:28 pm

  3. how about legos?

    david hornak

    October 4, 2011 at 6:43 am


Leave a Reply

