The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Products Most Guys Don’t Understand

with 3 comments

I don't get it

I may be generalizing and opening myself up to ridicule but that never stopped me before so here goes! I think most products are made and advertised to appeal to women.  Let me give some examples related to food of why I feel that way. 

The snack size candy bar.  If they were marketing this product to men it would be twice the size of the regular bar not one-fifth the size.

Fruit juice that has vegetables in it.  No guy would ever get near this product.  First of all, drinking fruit juice for a guy is a big enough step to take toward epicurean maturity but adding vegetable juice to it is simply gross.

Snack foods measured in 100 calories size.  No guy cares about calories we want quantity – and plenty of it!  If it tastes good that’s a bonus.  How is a caloric measurement a size?    It is about weight or as I like to call it; heft.  For example, this is how I would indicate my approval of a snack food.  “Wow, this snack bar is great, it has plenty of heft.”  Note that I never once mentioned it tasted good or was only 100 calories.

Light anything.   A far as I am concerned the only light I am aware of is the one I leave on when I depart from a room.  Light is the opposite of heft so that must mean it is a bad thing so why would a guy buy it?

Items that are high in fiber.  The only fiber a guy can think of quickly is fiberglass and we don’t want to eat any of that.  Speaking of fiberglass did you see the new Corvette?(made of fiberglass)

Things that have vanilla or chai in front of their names.  Heaven forbid if they have Vanilla-Cinnamon-Chai in front of it.  The only thing I like with vanilla in it is ice cream with chocolate syrup generously smeared on it. Vanilla-Cinnamon-Chai sounds like something that a woman uses when she is bathing.  Definitely not something a guy will put on the table.

I hope you now understand my point of view.  I need to go, it’s time for me put on a pot of lilac-chamomile tea and watch some football.  Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

September 19, 2011 at 7:18 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I see your point. Maybe marketers just choose to advertise to women because they buy more. Hmmm.

    Cerinthe

    September 19, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    • And because women normally do all the grocery shopping in the household? Unless the guy is a bachelor and living by himself.

      Loved this post btw!

      jennifernon

      September 20, 2011 at 8:51 am

  2. I fully agree with you, and I do believe everything is marketed towards women. Look at men’s hygiene products for instance. Why would you care about which lotion you choose or what scent of deodorant? A lot of women buy these products for their men. Not saying that men don’t care, but men don’t care. Haha, as long as they have no B.O. and have brushed their teeth, men are A-OK! And that is A-OK with me!

    Fristal Ann

    September 20, 2011 at 5:33 pm


Leave a Reply

