The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Adieu, Summer 2011

leave a comment »

Hey good looking, what'cha got cooking?

Summer is coming to a close soon and the unofficial end is Labor Day weekend.  I thought I would reflect upon some neat things I experienced this summer.  Perhaps you also have some good memories of summer, 2011. 

  • A juicy New York Strip steak for dinner on our wedding anniversary
  • Having all my brothers and sisters together in July at the Pennsylvania “Compound”
  • Watching a thunderstorm develop over Knoxville, Tennessee for over an hour as I drove south on interstate 75 in Kentucky.  I was driving home from a trip north on business.  Luckily it did not bring much rain that I had to negotiate while I was driving late at night.
  • Going to the movies with my two nephews to watch the Zookeeper and the Smurfs.  Both were good. Not the movies, but my nephews who were well-behaved.
  • Reminiscing with my older brother about shared experiences in the 1970’s in our home town
  • My first summer in Atlanta – so much sun, so little rain, so much fun.
  • Passing my annual, self assessed, bicycle fitness test.
  • Browsing the shops located on Marietta square on a lazy Saturday afternoon in June.
  • Meeting a lot of wonderful new people in our new community.
  • Authentic Southern barbecue – yummy.

As you can see from my list there was no vacation this summer but why vacation when your everyday experience is like a vacation destination?    I am sure the newness will wear off and become old hat but until then I am vacationing in my own backyard.  Before summer ends you still have some time to make memories, make one today.

Have a great week, this unofficial final week of summer.

Written by pacelinebiz

August 29, 2011 at 5:01 pm

Leave a Reply

