The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Making Good Out Of Bad.

with 2 comments

How can I make this right?

Last week I had a small problem with an office supply order.  I ordered some tinted window envelopes over the phone after reviewing an online catalog.  The product was advertised as tinted but the picture on the website did not show tinting.  So, I decided to call to talk to a live person before placing my order.  I guided the sales rep to the item on the website and she agreed that it appeared to be without tinting but told me to place the order and if it was not to my satisfaction I could get a no questions asked return.  With that knowledge I ordered the envelopes and when they arrived they were just as advertised on the website – without tint.  I cringed, ready for a fight when I called to begin the return process and to my surprise the return was processed immediately and without question.  They also told me they would investigate the problem.  They made the refund and the next day I got a call back from a cheerful representative of the company and they told me that they called their supplier and it was the suppliers fault.  The supplier made a bad batch of envelopes and she thanked me for pointing out the problem with the website before it became a bigger problem.  She then ordered the envelopes and they are due to arrive tomorrow.  Assuming all things work out and I get the correct number nine tinted single window envelope, I will be very impressed with the way this problem was handled.  I was also told to keep the incorrect envelopes as it would not make sense for them to pay to ship them back to the warehouse.  I will not reveal the name of the company until I am sure all things have ended well, but will tell you that this is not a small operation.    This company has 9 warehouse locations in North America.   The moral to the story is you can make a life-long customer by handling a problem the right way.  You can also make an enemy for life as well.  The choice is up to you.

To give you some more background to this story let me describe how I chose to write about this topic today.   As I was, going through my very busy day today I had my blog in the back of my mind all day hoping to come up with an interesting business topic.  Unfortunately, I came up empty at the end of the day so I decided to go to a business blog that I read which sometimes triggers my imagination.  Today I went there and then stopped looking when I saw the following blog which was posted about 2 months ago.  Take a moment to read it and you will see how fortunate I was to place that envelope order last week.  I was lucky enough that it generated a blog post when I was in need of one.  I hope you enjoy my blog and the blog that inspired me today.

http://www.jessicaswanson.com/whats-your-small-business-guarantee/

Have a great week and be ready to turn a bad situation into a sales opportunity.

Written by pacelinebiz

May 9, 2011 at 6:39 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I own Dollar Wise Cartridge. We sell ink, toner and imaging supplies nationwide. In our business, whether an original equipment manufacturer brand or compatible brand, there is a 1.5% to 1.8% defect rate with cartridges. We offer a 100% “No Hassle” Satisfaction Guarantee. When our customer reports a problem, we go into action immediately to get them a replacement or offer them a full credit. If we require the defective unit to be returned, we send them a prepaid shipping label. Our goal is to have only 100% satisfied customers and we’ve built our business by providing superior customer service that we believe our customers deserve.

    Mark Zangari

    May 9, 2011 at 9:30 pm

    • Mark,

      Thanks for the comment. It seems like Dollar Wise Cartridge is doing things the right way. It is so much easier to deal with a company that stands behind their product.

      pacelinebiz

      May 10, 2011 at 6:53 am


Leave a Reply

