The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

A man and his cars

leave a comment »

Last week’s surprising treat of getting a Ford Mustang as a rental car made me think about cars and cars I have owned or driven over the years.

Below is my list with some brief memories about my “rides”:

  • 1943 Willy’s Jeep (CJ2 or CJ3 model) – Top speed was about 45 and could get about 18 mpg if you were easy on the gas pedal.  It had no heater and was a rag top that was ordered from the JC Whitney catalog.
  • 1969 Chrysler New Yorker – had a 440 cubic inch engine and a 4 barrel carburetor.  It was a massive gas hog.  It was the first car that I drove over 100 MPH.  I don’t think I have done that since.  You do get wiser with age.
  • 1979 Ford LTD Station Wagon – This car took me to the prom my Senior year
  • 1986 Dodge Reliant (K Car) Station Wagon – a company car I drove this 50,000 miles in one year.
  • 1980 Ford Fairmont – My first car I actually owned after I got out college.  Your grandfather would have been jealous of the maroon vinyl top and red vinyl seats.
  • 1983 Chevy Cavalier Station Wagon – A great car for hauling my bicycle to various races.  It was a 5 speed that got good gas mileage.
  • 1992 Chevy Cavalier Coupe – My first brand new car. I took out my first loan and bought it with no money in my pocket when I signed the papers.  It had fold down rear seats that were handy for hauling that bicycle around to races.
  • 1994 Dodge Intrepid – I bought this car used with about 15,000 miles on it.  I loved this car.  It had more electronics on it than the Apollo 13 rocket – or so said the salesman when he tried to sell me an extended warranty.  I declined and had little or no trouble with the car until it hit 150,000 miles.
  • 1995 Chevy S-10 Extended cab  – I bought this truck used right after I got married and forgot to tell me wife what I was doing.  I guess I forgot I was married.  This was a great truck that hauled my bike and everything else I could fit in it.  I sold it with 135,000 miles on it for $1,600 and the guy who bought it drove it for 3 or 4 more years.
  • 2003 Chevy S-10 – I bought this new after I sold the ’95 S-10.  I called it “PJ” since it was a plain Jane.  The only thing it had was a CD player and air conditioning.  It was a 5 speed that got good gas mileage.  I sold it to my brother when it had about 55,000 miles on it.  He drove it for about 3 years and got almost as much as he paid for it.  Good resale value.
  • 2002 Chevy Impala Sedan – I got this car from a company I used to work for.  I drove it for 2 years and sold it to my other brother for about what I paid for it.  I really liked this car, it was very roomy.  I would buy it back from my brother if he would sell it. 
  • 2009 Chevy Malibu Sedan – This is the car I drive now.  I bought it at the height of the credit crisis when no cars were selling.   I got a really good deal on it.  I like this car but it is smaller than the Impala and I miss the roominess.

Do you have any stories about the vehicles in your past?  I hope you enjoyed my walk down memory lane.  Have a great week.

Bye Bye Silver

Hello Grey Ghost

Written by pacelinebiz

March 7, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Leave a Reply

