The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

On this day in 1935, the world changed forever.

with 3 comments

 

Beer

Suitable for everyday use

I was struggling today for a non-business related topic and I was bailed out by a historic event that occurred on this day in 1935.  At times when the idea well has run dry, I brainstorm for ideas that might trigger my mind to jump out of writer’s block.  Today was one of those days and I decided to see what happened today in history hoping that perhaps it would give me an idea of what to write about. 

I hit the jackpot.  On January 24, 1935 beer in a can became a reality!  Thousands of college kids and sports fan across the U.S.A. were about to discover a new alcohol delivery system.   I got the information from History.com and have included the first paragraph of the story below.

“Canned beer makes its debut on this day in 1935. In partnership with the American Can Company, the Gottfried Krueger Brewing Company delivered 2,000 cans of Krueger’s Finest Beer and Krueger’s Cream Ale to faithful Krueger drinkers in Richmond, Virginia. Ninety-one percent of the drinkers approved of the canned beer, driving Krueger to give the green light to further production.”

To read more click on this link: http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history

I find it interesting that during this time the three largest breweries were Anheuser-Busch, Pabst and Schlitz.  Anheuser-Busch remains at or near the top but the other two are much smaller now in percentage of national sales volume.  I am certainly glad this innovation took place because my wife works for an aluminum company that sells cans to Anheuser-Busch among others.   To close, I will give my personal top 3 favorites beers in a can, perhaps you have a different top 3.   The list is not in order because as with children how can you distinguish between your favorite 3 beers?

A)     Iron City, a Pennsylvania beer

B)      Yuengling Amber Lager, a Pennsylvania beer and America’s oldest brewery

C)      Dos Equis Amber lager (not just the cool commercials it is good beer)

 Later tonight I might just have beer in a can to celebrate today’s historic significance.

Have a good week, and please… drink responsibly.

Written by pacelinebiz

January 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very interesting. I had no idea.

    Beth Ward

    January 25, 2011 at 9:20 am

  2. I gotta say, the Dos Equis commercials are great!

    Alice

    January 26, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    • I must confess I did not have the beer on Monday night. Maybe this weekend. I am NOT the most interesting man in the world like the Dos Equis pitch man.

      pacelinebiz

      January 27, 2011 at 9:38 am


Leave a Reply

