The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

2011 New Year’s wishes and…jalopies!

with 3 comments

Trash or Treasure

At this time of year it is traditional to do a look back on the past year or a look forward to what the coming year will bring.  I will bore you with none of that nonsense and instead will bore you with a specially brewed batch of nonsense cooked up just for this occasion. 

I thought I would share a particular personal complaint that has become an annoying burr under my saddle.  It may be a surprise to some of you but I do a lot of reading of blogs and message boards of various sorts.  Mostly they are software user groups, alumni association discussions, sports forums, chamber of commerce and industry specific blogs.  The biggest complaint I have is the incorrect use of the English language.  I will be the first to admit that I have my fair share of errors floating around cyberspace.  It is easy to make errors even with spell check (especially if the word you incorrectly spelled is a word).  I am talking about repeatedly using words that sound alike incorrectly in a sentence.  When I say sound “alike” I really don’t mean homonyms such as the words; would and wood.  I mean words that are now casually and lazily pronounced incorrectly to the point that when a phrase that contains such word is written, it is spelled wrong.  And… it ticks me off.

Most of these errors are occurring in arena that once would expect a certain amount of educational attainment.  I will cite two instances and then sign off for the year. 

Instance one:

When expressing regret in making a purchase before getting expert advice someone may correctly use the following sentence:

I should have taken that jalopy to my ace mechanic to look at before buying it.

Many times I have seen the new incorrect English version of this sentence as follows:

I should of taken that jalopy to my ace mechanic to look at before buying it.

Perhaps if the person was smart enough to correctly use “have” he would have also been smart enough to seek counsel with his trusted ace mechanic. 

Instance two:

When expressing the fact that your new car is in superior condition to that of a jalopy you may correctly use the following sentence:

My shiny, new Buick is better than your old rusty jalopy built in 1963.

Many times I have seen the new incorrect English version of this sentence as follows:

My shiny, new Buick is better then your old rusty jalopy built in 1963.

Perhaps if the person was smart enough to correctly use “than” he would have also realized that jalopies from 1963 are turning forty-eight this year and if cared for properly could be turned into a marvelous antique.

As promised, this jalopy is signing off for 2010, see you next year.  Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

December 27, 2010 at 7:49 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here’s my pettest peeve, or peeviest pet – “mute” point rather than “moot” point. Moot is, in fact, a word. It means “debatable.”

    Alice

    December 28, 2010 at 8:48 am

  2. “your” right Doug.. you do have a burr in “you’re” saddle

    MGD

    January 27, 2011 at 2:13 pm


Leave a Reply

