The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

My Ten Favorite Christmas Gifts

with one comment

How does your top ten compare?

The northern part of the country got pounded with snow last week and is getting another dose this week.  A White Christmas is looking very likely.  This week I am reminiscing about all the great gifts I got for Christmas as a child.  I have made a list and checked it twice and here are my ten best.

  • A chemistry set when I was in 4th grade was pretty cool.
  • Walkie-talkies when I was in kindergarten – I wrote about this last year in my Blog Two Rock Star Uncles
  • A football game that was played with a deck of cards and a game board that was a football field that kept track of your progress on the field.  If I remember correctly the offense called a play (rush or pass) and then read the result by drawing a card.
  • A four person toboggan.
  • A real leather football.
  • A baseball glove “signed” by New York Mets Outfielder Cleon Jones that I still have to this day.  His last full season in the big leagues was 1975.  He is in the New York Mets Hall of Fame which is nice, but I grew up and still am a Pittsburgh Pirates fan.
  • A long-sleeved paisley shirt that I wore out from wearing it all the time.  It got to the point that my mom burned it because she was so tired of looking at it. She got rid of it when I was in 3rd grade and I got it in first grade and the elbows were worn out and it was way too small.
  • An Etch a sketch which are still made today.
  • An Authentic Franco Harris Football jersey.
  • An air rifle that made a loud noise and discharged air out of the barrel which would probably never be allowed by the Consumer Products Safety Commission today.

 I would be interested in hearing what cool gifts you got as a child.  Did you get Rock’em Sock’em robots, Hot Wheels, or perhaps a cabbage patch doll or a Nintendo 64?  Did anyone get a Red Ryder BB gun with a compass in the stock?  (You’ll shoot your eye out!)

Next week is Christmas week; I hope everyone has all of their gift shopping done.  Unfortunately, I still have some gifts to buy before I am done.  I hope the snow stops long enough for me to sneak out to the mall.  Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

December 13, 2010 at 8:04 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmmmm… I would have to say… Transformers… the good kind… not the cheap ones made today from China that feel like they are made out of feathers… It was cool getting the ones you had to put 5 together to make a “bigger” monther transformer

    Legos…. a lot of them.. but I was fond of the Yellow Castle set I got that had an actual drawbridge and guys on horses with actualy jousting outfits!!

    MGD

    December 16, 2010 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

