The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Christmas songs we love and love to hate

with one comment

We are now almost two weeks past Thanksgiving and the start of the Christmas shopping season and Christmas music playing on the radio is in full swing.  If you have ever worked in retail you probably have a few stories of how sick of the music you can get after a month or more of non-stop holiday classics.  I once worked a Christmas season and the store where I worked had about 3 cassettes and I got very sick of the songs that have been burned into my memory.  If I never hear Run, Rudolph Run again that will be fine by me!

According to a yahoo article found by clicking here  This is their list of top 10 favorite Christmas songs of all time.   I can’t really argue much with including these in the top 10 – they are classics.

Their list is below:

10. Twelve days of Christmas

9. Jingle Bells

8. The First Noel

7. Deck the Halls

6. Joy to the World

5. Silent Night

4. Let it Snow

3. Jingle Bell Rock

2. Frosty the Snowman

1. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer

Now that we have covered some favorites, here is my list of Christmas songs (and the offending Artist) that need to go away for a long time.  Most are parodies or by rock artists.  A few of these indicated by an asterisk are from my retail days.

10. Santa Baby (Madonna)*

9. The Twelve Pains of Christmas (Bob Rivers)

8. Father Christmas (The Kinks)

7. Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer (Elmo and Patsy)

6. All I want for Christmas is my Two front teeth (Various artists)

5. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus (Jimmy Boyd)

4. Any song by Kenny G

3. Santa Claus is Coming to Town (Bruce Springsteen)

2. Run Rudolph Run (Bryan Adams)*

1. Merry Christmas Baby (Bruce Springsteen)*

 I am sorry if your favorite song appears on my worst list and I apologize to the fans of the “The Boss” who has two songs that made my list.  Have a great week and watch out for the snow – and bad Christmas songs!

Written by pacelinebiz

December 6, 2010 at 6:52 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hate the porky pig Bbbbllluuuee Christmas and the Chipmunks.

    Kathy Murauskas

    December 7, 2010 at 8:16 am


Leave a Reply

