The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

My triumph over technology last week

leave a comment »

 Today I would like to share with you my recent brushes with technology upgrades I made in the past week.    Before I do, let me give you a heads up on a very interesting topic that I will address in the next business related topic on 11/29/10.  I have asked a consultant in the insurance industry to give us all an update on the impact of the health care reform legislation.  I had a very interesting discussion with her a couple of weeks ago and felt very strongly that this information needs to be shared with as many individuals and business owners as possible.  Some myths will be dispelled and perhaps some stomachs will be upset by what she will share.  Mark your calendar for 11/29/10 to read more.

Now for today’s topic on technology:

Last week I jumped headlong into a computer upgrade that was quite extensive.  I purchased a replacement for my 4 year old laptop computer and got a better machine, relatively speaking, than I bought 4 years ago for $200 less.  That was the good news.  The bad news was changing operating systems going from XP Pro to Windows 7, changing from Microsoft Office 2003 to 2007 and for good measure upgrading some accounting software from 2006 to the 2011 version. 

If that was all that I had to absorb that would have been plenty but I also had to load new drivers for my hardware since I am now running Window 7 – 64 bit software.  It may sound ridiculous but I have 3 printers.  I have 2 on my desk in my office and a smaller one that I use when I am on the road. I also have an extra scanner in my office in addition to my all-in-one printer/fax/scanner/copier that sits on my desk.  I also had to register software and transfer over files from my old computer to my new one.  Rather than go into any more detail let me just say it was a busy week of out-of-comfort zone activities. 

Despite all the challenges, I made it through successfully and all software and hardware is working properly.  One by-product of the 64 bit version of Windows 7 was faster performance from my printers and scanner.  I also want to let you know that if you have not upgraded your computer to Windows 7 do not be afraid, it is very easy to work with in my opinion.  It is just a prettier version of XP pro with some neat features that outweigh some the new features that take a while to get used to.   I am still learning every day but I felt I was at an acceptable level of competency in about 1 day of use.  Fortunately, I have had Microsoft Office 2007 for a couple of years on my personal desktop computer so I was a little less worried about upgrading to that program.  Even though I have been using Microsoft Office 2007 – especially Excel I have not gotten in as deeply into the changes as I discovered when I had to use it to run my old excel files.  So far I have been able to deal with the changes without too much loss of efficiency.  I have also found that you can simply hide the ribbons and customize the tool bar with icons and that helps quite a bit and can let you slowly wade into the world of ribbons if you choose to.  

Good luck with technological issues you may face and have a great week.  Next week I will write about Thanksgiving.

Written by pacelinebiz

November 15, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Leave a Reply

