The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

50 is the new 30 and other thoughts

with 2 comments

What they don't tell you

In recent weeks, I have identified lessons that can be learned from different sources that can be applied to our lives or to our businesses.  These lessons can lead us to be better people or businesses and our family, friends and customers will be the beneficiaries of this advice.  I offer no lessons to be learned today.

Today, I have nothing but observations and questions.  Before going any further, I ask that you review the picture above if you have not already done so. You may find it humorous and it is the starting point for today’s blog.  As you can tell, that original piece of artwork is evidence that I chose correctly when faced with the career path – Artist or Accountant.  I am to stick figure art as Claude Monet was to impressionist painting. 

  • I ask you, is the person who had the idea that 50 is the new 30 closer to 50 or 30? 
  • If 50 is the new 30, what is 30? 
  • Is it good or bad that 50 is the new 30? 
  • If 50 is the new 30, is it safe to assume that 100 is the new 60 or that 70 is the new 42?  Does this math work in the same proportion or is there some magical formula that is safely stored in the same secret vault as the recipe for Coca Cola? 
  • While we are on the subject of mathematics, I offer the Hornak theorem: The amount of laughter from seeing the words “large print edition” is inversely proportional to your age.  (More laughter = less candles on your birthday cake)
  •  Good advice I heard that makes more sense everyday: “walk instead of running, sit instead of standing, lie down instead of sitting”.  That’s my idea of energy conservation.
  •  When calling a company and navigating through various automated menus, why do you have to enter your account/ID/phone or other number using “your touch tone phone” if the first question asked of you by a human being is “what is your account/ID/phone number”?  That makes my head hurt.
  •  I recently bought some new Hanes T-shirts and it had nothing to do with their “lay flat collars”.  Does that mean they wasted all that money on Michael Jordan and those commercials that seem to be ubiquitous lately? 

Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

October 25, 2010 at 10:08 am

Posted in General Interest, Humor

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 1) The Drawing: The tipping point would seem to be at 30 on the drawing. After that it goes down hill.

    2) Great questions. Can’t wait for the answers!

    Gene

    October 26, 2010 at 11:34 am

    • Gene,

      I guess it looks like the tipping point is around 30 but when I drew it I was thinking 40. I don’t have any answers just questions! I guess my answer is it is all a state of mind and forget the calendar but don’t foret your reading glasses.

      Doug

      pacelinebiz

      October 29, 2010 at 10:16 am


Leave a Reply

