The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Man Made Magnificence

with one comment

This week I promised a more upbeat topic than last week’s – Man Made Mayhem.  Since we are fully engaged in summer mode let’s talk about Man Made Magnificence.  Summertime makes me think of amusement parks and aren’t they all magnificent? 

Let’s start with the biggies in no particular order:

  • Disney World/Land
  • Epcot
  • Universal Studios (all locations)
  • Six Flags (all locations)
  • Cedar Point
  • Busch Gardens
  • Kings Island/Dominion
  • Sea World
  • Knott’s Berry Farm

 These are all very exciting and wonderful, but there is another level of amusement park that seems to be a little more endearing due to their old fashioned charm.    I am speaking of smaller, regional parks without the national advertising budget.    Some of the smaller ones I am thinking about are no longer in operation due to bankruptcy, fires or other reasons.  Some still are alive and kicking.  Below is a short list of some I can remember.

  • Geauga Lake
  • Conneaut Lake Park, PA
  • Kennywood Park- near Pittsburgh
  • Idora Park – Youngstown
  • Euclid Beach Park
  • Madison-on-the Lake

I am sure there are many more that you can list.  I suppose I liked the smaller parks because they were closer to home and more affordable therefore I went to them more often than the big parks. 

I was never much of a roller coaster fanatic so when I go to Cedar Point, the Corkscrew or Iron Dragon is all I can handle.    My favorite rides at Cedar Point are Witches Wheel, Scrambler, Matterhorn and Chaos.  I can take the spinning but I’ll pass on the roller coasters or drops from high above terra firma.  Power Tower?  No thanks.

I hope I have stirred some fond memories this week.  Enjoy your summer and I will see you next week

Written by pacelinebiz

June 28, 2010 at 9:01 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My first job out of high school before starting my freshman year at Pitt was at Conneaut Lake Park. We used to trade concessions for free rides on the Blue Streak. My all time favorite amusement park though is Kennywood. Our school picnic was always the first Tuesday in June and my mother would take us on a special outing to buy our “Kennywood outfits.” That was over 50 years ago and I still manage to squeeze in a trip to the park with my brothers and sister when I visit from California. It is a day filled with nostalgia. I even have the books and videos of the park that I watch on a regular basis. Those were the days!!!

    David Petrovay

    June 29, 2010 at 7:55 pm


Leave a Reply

