The Biz of Pacelinebiz

Turning things on end to achieve results!

Luigi’s Pizza and other things I miss…

leave a comment »

This week let’s take a vacation from the economy, sovereign debt, interest rates and anything else too serious.  I hope this week’s topic will bring back some fond memories.  My list of things I miss (in no particular order):

  • Full service gas stations with free air
  • Old friends
  • Old style pull tabs or “pop tops” – in Margaritaville
  • STP commercials – the racer’s edge!
  • Walter Cronkite
  • Drive In movies
  • Cars with the headlight dimmer switch on the floor
  • Cars with “Wing” windows
  • Gilligan’s Island re-runs
  • Locally hosted afternoon movies that offered a chance to win money if you were watching.  I remember it being called the Money Movie or Dialing for Dollars growing up.    
  • Locally owned hardware, sporting goods, appliance and clothing stores
  • Christmas club accounts
  • Dialing the time and temperature.  I can still remember my old number, it was 347-7751
  • Another thing I miss about the telephone? I remember when all I had to do was dial (on an old rotary phone) 7-7751 to get the time and temperature.  Now in some places you have to dial the area code to call your neighbor!
  • Luigi’s Pizza from my home town.  Still in business since the 1950’s but I haven’t had one of their pies in years.  Oh, it is so good!  I am going to make that a goal by the end of the year to eat a Luigi’s Pizza.  Oh, by the way, I still know their number DI7-3812.
  • I miss scrounging for bottles to get the deposit money so you could buy a pack of baseball cards.
  • The absolute excitement of waking up Christmas morning to a tree surrounded with shiny presents bedecked with ribbons and bows.

 Well, that is all for now I am off to get a pizza.  Have a great week.

Written by pacelinebiz

May 17, 2010 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

